Slop…Sloppy Joes Yay

Malayna is growing up so fast.  It seems like just yesterday she was this tiny.

Now she is nearly 4 months old and has more than doubled her birth weight!!

With every move up in diaper size, clothing size, and chubbier legs, I can’t help but think she will be running around before I know it.  How do parents let their children go away to college?

She still looks a lot like Sam

However, she does take after me in a few areas…

She often gives a very serious/ stern look towards others.  Perhaps its the teacher side in me?  I’ve been told by many people that I look at them sternly when in reality I am just deep in thought (or confused).  I can not tell you how many times I get asked in the grocery store if I need help looking for something because I give “the look.”  I get it from my Grandpa O’Grady.

She also is the happiest in the morning, and according to my mom I was the same way.

She loves sucking her fingers.  I always sucked my two middle fingers.

She took her hands out as soon as I snapped the picture

And I wont say who she takes after when she doesn’t get good sleep or is hungry….Ok it’s me again!

Speaking of being hungry, last summer I was watching Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution.  He was a strong advocate in going into schools to revamp their lunch menus.  It was amazing to see what some schools were feeding their children.

One of the recipes I enjoy on his slow was his Sloppy Joe recipe. Sloppy Joe’s is a childhood classic meal, however we all know it is not the healthiest.  This recipe is a lot healthier than what you can normally get from mixing beef with a can.  It uses purred kidney beans to add some good fiber and protein.

I adapted the recipe to feed four people (instead of a whole school 😉 )

http://www.jamieoliver.com/jfr-beta/pdf/recipes/12_sloppy-joes.pdf

Sloppy Joes Revamped

Ingredients:

1 pound of ground beef (we use venison which is a lot leaner but will give you a more gamey taste to it)

1 yellow onion

1 green pepper

1 can kidney beans

1/4 cup Ketchup

1/4 cup bbq sauce

Directions

1. Cook ground beef until no longer pink. Drain any grease.

2.  While beef is cooking, blend kidney beans in immersion blender.

3.  Add ketchup and bbq sauce in a bowl with the kidney beans puree.

4.  Add the onions and green peppers ( I didn’t have any green peppers) to the meat until soft.

5. Add the bean sauce puree in with the meat.

6. Cook for about 10 minutes

7. Serve on a bun with your choice of side.

*Sorry forgot to take a picture of the final product, but Lauren and Joe enjoyed them!

2 thoughts on “Slop…Sloppy Joes Yay

  1. Those were so good. 🙂 love the adam sandler ref. it does seem like just yesterday i was snapping pics of may in your xmas stocking and she would lay on my big bump w cece kicking in there. aww

Leave a Reply

