Coconut Bars and Food Processor Yummies

Theses coconut oatmeal squares are my newest addiction.  Oh boy they are so so good.  My good friend Lora even liked them and does not like coconut.

Make them, I promise you wont be disappointed!

Thin + Chewy Chocolate Drenched Coconut Oatmeal Squares

makes one 9×9 pan (about 16 squares)

1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

1 1/2 cups shredded, sweetened coconut

1/4 cup brown sugar, loosely packed

pinch of salt

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/4 cup coconut oil (measured solid)

1/4 cup honey

Spray a 9×9 pan with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl, combine oats, coconut, brown sugar and salt. Heat a small saucepan over low heat and add butter and coconut oil, stirring until melted. Add the butter and oil to the oat mixture, then add the honey and stir very thoroughly until the entire mix is moistened. Press it into the pan and stick in the fridge for 15 minutes.

Chocolate layer

8 ounces good-quality chocolate, chocolate

2 tablespoons coconut oil (measured solid)

Using the same saucepan that you melted the butter and oil in, add the chocolate and oil and stir over low heat until melted. Remove the pan from the fridge and pour the chocolate evenly over top, spreading with a spatula or spoon. Place back in the fridge for about 30 minutes. When ready to eat, either cut the squares in the pan, or gently lift the square out and place on a cutting board to cut. It helps if the bars somewhat come to room temp before cutting, as they will slightly crumble a bit if super cold!

For my birthday my mom got me a food processor!! I am so excited about this and have enjoyed using it.  My two favorite things I have used with it so far is homemade peanut butter and dairy free stuffed shells.

For the homemade peanut butter all I did was put in Trader Joes Honey Roasted Peanuts into the food processor for around 4 minutes and it turns into delicious peanut butter.  If you like your peanut butter more chunky leave it in for less time.  This is some of my favorite peanut butter!

I also made this recipe that Lauren introduced me to.  At first I was a bit skeptical with having no diary in stuffed shells (you make them with tofu), but I was quite pleased.

I asked Sam what he thought was in the shells and he said ricotta (Hah fooled him!)  I couldn’t believe you could make tofu taste like ricotta.

Diary Free Stuffed Shells

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1.5 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 16 ounces extra firm tofu
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 10 ounces frozen spinach, defrosted
  • 1 box jumbo shells
  • 1 jar of your favorite marinara sauce

Directions

  1. Drain the tofu and pat dry with paper towels. Crumble into the bowl of a food processor or high-speed blender along with olive oil, salt, oregano, garlic and nutritional yeast. Process on high until smooth and “ricotta-like”.
  2. Add the defrosted spinach to the blended tofu mixture.
  3. Cook shells in boiling salted water until el dente. Drain
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Pour about ½ cup pasta sauce into the bottom of a 9 x 13 inch pan. Stuff shells with 2 T of filling and place in pan, seam side down. Repeat until all shells have been stuffed.
  5. Pour remaining pasta sauce over shells, cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Serve!

Yield: 6-8 servings

Sara and Lauren got me a tiny ice cream sandwich maker for my birthday.  I made a cookie cake in a pan first and used the ice cream sandwich maker to cut out the cookies and added in vanilla ice cream to the center!

 

 

Enjoy with good friends!

The last one if for you Aunt Amy!!! :)

One thought on “Coconut Bars and Food Processor Yummies

  1. a :: I will be trying the coconut bar recipe asap
    b :: I might even try the tofu recipe, only because you recommended it and tricked Sam with it so maybe I can do the same with Luke :)
    c :: Thanks for the shout out
    d :: It’s official…you have the cutest baby of all times – so proud, represent it M!
    e :: can you e.mail me a copy of that pic so I can put it in her frame at my house. She’s poster child now!
    f :: love you…wish we were closer, as always

Leave a Reply

